PDA

View Full Version : What to look for in a car?

dmstang
05-26-2010, 04:39 PM
Hi all, I'm interested in buying a car from a friend and would like to know what to look for into a used imca modified? I believe it's a Dirtworks Z link car. I'm a beginner and never turned a lap before. Looks like the whole car is there without the engine and trans.

So what's the realistic expections for a beginner to get into racing, do I need to get the best of everything in a trans and motor, such as Brinn trans $1,700 and engine with 500+ HP? I mean how much HP do I really need for a 1/3 mile track, I would be more concerned about chassis set up and make sure it sticks to the track with a high HP engine.

What does the average racer have in their car? And their knowledge with chassis set ups? I would like to get away with cheap engine and trans if possible and focus on chassis set up until I get the feeling of it.

Any thoughts and advice would be appreciated. Thanks.

CC28
05-26-2010, 04:54 PM
First off, if your like every other yahoo in the stands that tells thereself they could go out there and win your horribly mistaken. Mods are the hardest thing to drive on dirt, 8 inch tires with 500-750 horsepower, 600-650 is most common. Buy a used tranny for 800 bucks, and build a cheap 383 using a cheap scat or eagle crank and rods and some used iron eagles and go race. If you can go out there and not spin out every turn or get lapped 5 times you have already won. HOLD YOUR LINE, get some seat time and see if this is for you, then start spending real money to go real fast. I have a descent 383 with iron eagles, havnt dynoed yet but should go 620 pretty easy that id sell.

dmstang
05-26-2010, 05:51 PM
Yeah you're exactly right, I'm just a guy from the stand that think it would be cool to try it out. I have raced mini stock couple years ago and understand little about racing.