PDA

View Full Version : Upside down shocks?

motorbreath4
07-05-2010, 08:40 PM
question for all you knowitalls... i read the tech forums and try to comprehend what i can and it helps.. i think!

im new to actually working on a car, but have watched forever. my question is why would or what is the atvantage is to running your shocks upside down?

i ask cuz the guy who wins every dang race in our cars class runs them but no one else does. is there a reason for it? what diffrence does it make?

any help would be apreciated!

stock car driver
07-05-2010, 08:48 PM
upside down they are sprung wt.

Egoracing
07-05-2010, 09:51 PM
Shaft up, the weight of the shock body is on the wheel, with the shaft down only the weight of the shaft and piston stack are on the wheel so it lowers the weight that the shock has to control.

bushracing67
07-07-2010, 08:28 AM
and it also allows gravity to work against the seal/scraper instead of with it, the amount of weight you are talking about is so small.... hell on a good night we have double that worth of clay packed inside the front coil springs... if it is that great of an ideas then why arent richards, rayburn, bloomer or any of the others running their shocks upside down ? lol

motorbreath4
07-07-2010, 03:26 PM
i understand technically his r right side up... never thought about it that way but makes sence. i just wonder if theirs an advantage to running it on a 3200lb monte carlo or if he does it just to get people talking and wondering.

nikk
07-07-2010, 04:10 PM
There Is A Small Advantage Reducing Unsprung Weight.your Competitor's Domination Is Probably Due To His Attention To Detail Gaining All The "small Advantages"he Can.i Would Encourage You To Do The Same.good Luck!

bushracing67
07-07-2010, 05:46 PM
By definition, they are.