PDA

View Full Version : LR Brake floater caliper location?

want2bfast2
07-11-2010, 12:45 AM
Was wondering if the location of the brake caliper on the brake floater bracket made a difrence on how it works? I have a LR brake floater and it has the caliper mounted at 3 o'clock I have sean some mounted at 6 O'clock
I think they were on Taylor Shaw cars. I was looking for opinions if the caliper
was mounted in a certain position on the floater bracket if it made a difrence on how the brake floater worked?

Thanks

Confused?
07-11-2010, 08:17 AM
The caliper location does not matter. Just be sure when the car is up on the bars, the brake floater does not go over center.

Dibble31
07-12-2010, 12:29 AM
im fairly new to mods and got a 07 shaw by taylor. can you tell me any specs on how long the floater bar should be and why i need many holes for moving the rod up and down on the chassis do and were it should be.

Confused?
07-16-2010, 05:31 PM
The front mounts(chassis) on my cars are the same as the left upper bar mounts. The floater needs to be adjustable. The angle is what loads the LR and RF. The more angle, the more loading. The more loading helps with trail braking and can tighten entry.

Dibble31
07-18-2010, 09:03 PM
so your saying bringing the bar down on the chassis and taking angle out of it will slightley loosen entry on brake. am i correct?

want2bfast2
07-19-2010, 11:05 PM
Dibble31, I think the Taylor Shaw cars use a 18 inch floater bar center of heim to center of heim. The brake bar length may vary on difrent year chassis ? Less brake bar angle seems to loosen entry .
Good luck

Dibble31
07-20-2010, 12:45 AM
thanks for the help!

CANIX21N
07-20-2010, 10:01 PM