PDA

View Full Version : altenator & electric fan info

mudderfudder
11-03-2010, 06:55 AM
I am tossing around the thought of running an altenator next season and i was wondering if any of you have an opinion on which is the most dependable and which is the lightest and less bulky. I am also thinking about running a electric fan fan due to the fact that i have a hard time getting the water temp up to 190 even on the hottest nights. Where and what elec. fan wouyld be better for me and where can i find it? Thanks in advance for all your input, great bunch of guys here.

tiny1
11-03-2010, 07:37 AM
I run an alt down here. it's a single wire we get them off suzuki cars. they handle our 820hp motor at 8500rpm well. hope this is of help.

HOTDOG
11-03-2010, 08:47 AM
I Don't know about the fan thing put I run RACEMATE it's a water altenator all in one. I've been running it for 10 years works great always have 12 to 14 volts and only takes 3hp but makes up for it by keeping the battary up.

Matt49
11-03-2010, 02:59 PM
I have heard nothing but good things about the RaceMate water pump/alternator deal.

mudderfudder
11-03-2010, 07:49 PM
where is a good place to find this item?

HOTDOG
11-05-2010, 03:27 PM
Racemate.com

shocker33
11-06-2010, 08:20 AM
if you're serious about an electric fan look into Spal fans. They're a italian owned company based in des moines, iowa....Have come stock on all ferrari's for years. They are also the fan of choice for the cup teams. They have many different models and will have what you need.

poppy
11-06-2010, 09:08 PM
I run an alt and have considered a electric fan. How much HP can you pick up with an electric fan vs a normal fan?

dirty white boy
11-07-2010, 01:58 AM
I run an alt and have considered a electric fan. How much HP can you pick up with an electric fan vs a normal fan?