PDA

View Full Version : 99 mastersbilt set-up

oakshade_racer
11-18-2010, 05:03 PM
ok ill try this again and see if it goes thru. I have a 99 mastersbilt chassis that i am in the process of putting together as a beginer late model. i have no idea on what or how this car should be set-up so iam wondering if any of you guys have any information on the car and what it is supposed to have for set-up shocks , springs weight %, tires, psi. and basicly any information that made this car work back in its day. I beleive it is a " narrow car" but iam not 100% on how to indetify. ive read on one forum that these cars like to carry the left front but were fast if you got that problem under control. iam all new to late modle set-ups also. my home track is oakshade, 3/8 medium banking wide turns, but i actually am wanting to race this car at eldroa. crazy for a rookie i know, but i ran a stock there a few yrs ago and am wanting to return a lil faster. so any help and advise would be greatly appreciated.

MasterSbilt_Racer
11-19-2010, 08:16 AM
A narrow car can be setup close to a Smackdown. This is especially true if you can get a copy of an older Smackdown setup book from around 2004 or so. Basic setup for most places:

500 450
250 225

55% left, 55% rear, 100# lr j bar near pinion height and 8" up from bottom of frame rail

lr top in top, rr top one down, lr bottom second up, rr bottom link level

Have fun.

MasterSbilt_Racer
11-19-2010, 12:11 PM
If a narrow,

.................. LF.....................RF
Caster......... +2 ...................+4
Camber ........+2 ................... -5
Ride Height...3-3/4................3-3/4

bumpdrafter
11-19-2010, 06:23 PM
A narrow car can be setup close to a Smackdown. This is especially true if you can get a copy of an older Smackdown setup book from around 2004 or so. Basic setup for most places:

500 450
250 225

55% left, 55% rear, 100# lr j bar near pinion height and 8" up from bottom of frame rail

Have fun.

oakoakshade_racer