PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a leaf spring set up?????

PUT IT IN SIDEWAYS
01-09-2011, 07:04 AM
I have recently just bought a 01' rayburn chassis. It has a camaro clip on it. I would much rather just switch it over to a 3 link coil car but everybody tells me that with the rite set up a leaf car can be fast. Sooo i am going to try it out but i am looking to get the car as tight as possible and i have no idea what i am doin with a leaf car!! It is an old limited but where i race at they are considered pro stocks now. Any help and or opinions would be great. Thanks

Wrencherer
01-09-2011, 09:51 AM
FastBoys Leaf setup( Info )
FASTBOYS leaf tech(get it here)
Let's try this one more time
I am not too good at this typing and spelling thing, but I think you can get what you need to know about this setup
from this thread
I will start with a good base setup for what we will call the Fast Boys leaf setup.
Forget everything you ever knew about leaf springs (also most of what you do on bar cars is backwards from the way this deal works)When a bar car gets up on the bars the l/r tire walks forward, making the car loose. With this setup when the car hikes up on the l/r and the pinion rotates up the l/r tire goes back (making the car tighter).
Let's start with taking a standard stacked leaf car and making it into a fast boy's rear.
There are two ways to do this, the first is the easiest and would be a good way to start (easier to drive until you get
the feel for how tight it will be to drive).Leave the r/r leaf the way it comes(can use a 150 or 175 Ibs stacked leaf), instead of clamping it to the rear-end with u bolts you need to float the r/r spring mount on a bird cage. Leave the r/r shackels alone .Make sure you mount the r/r shock off of the rear end tube (instead of the lower spring plate) or it will wheel hoop.
Rebuilding the L/R leaf
Next you need to redo the l/r leaf spring and mounts on that side. This is the same for both the mono and stacked