PDA

View Full Version : tire needling vs siping

leadorfollow
01-27-2011, 05:41 AM
I'm curious if it's better to needle a tire than to sipe a tire. I'm not soaking tires or anything. I just want to know if it reacts better or lasts longer than siping? What are the pros and cons? I haven't found anything on this topic before. Any ideas would be appreciated. Thanks!

noballsnobabies
02-04-2011, 10:33 AM
anyone??????????????

joedoozer
02-04-2011, 11:35 AM
I was hoping someone would post on this, I was wondering myself. From what I understand needling has the same effect as siping and can be more effective; because it is more precise. But I am by no means an expert on this. Just what I have heard and read.

Egoracing
02-04-2011, 09:08 PM
Sipping is to create edges and friction to increase heat in the tire. Needling was tried MANY years ago in sprint cars and was forgotten about until it came back into light here recently. I do not see how a little hole could create more friction than 2 pieces rubbing but everyone it trying to sell the latest and greatest idea, even if it is 30 years old.

fast_crew
02-05-2011, 08:31 AM
Needling or dipping is done primarily to prevent blistering or over heating, gives the rubber more surface area to the air to cool. Circumference sipes or grooving also aids in cooling, along with some added side bite.

Egoracing
02-05-2011, 09:27 AM
Needling or dipping is done primarily to prevent blistering or over heating, gives the rubber more surface area to the air to cool. Circumference sipes or grooving also aids in cooling, along with some added side bite.

Drilling will prevent blistering and I could see where needling may also but it is not adding surface area as the area it would add is sealed tight to the other rubber touching it and not allow air flow. There was some BAD info going around a few years ago that siping allowed the tire to cool when in fact it creates friction when the rubber sides rub each other and increase heat.

RCJ