PDA

View Full Version : Drive shaft length

mudderfudder
03-20-2011, 06:33 AM
I have a 2010 MastersBilt Gen X and I run a falcon trans. I called Mastersbilt and the told me i should run a 35 1/2 inch shaft whti that particular trans, but on the ground at ride heights there is only like 2 inches of the yoke showing. Does that sound ride or should i have a shorter shaft? I just bought a 35 1/2 inch carbon fiber shaft too.

Matt49
03-21-2011, 08:31 AM
With the car on the ground, put a jack under the driver's arse and jack the car up until the LR tire just barely comes off the ground. If you still have some drive shaft yoke then, you are probably okay. Any compression of the RR (which is what the car will actually experience on the track) will move the shaft OUT so you are playing out worst case scenario doing it this way.
This is also a good time to make sure your travel limiting device is working properly. I'm assuming that you have one but I often make that assumption and find that people are using their shocks as travel limiters. Not with my money.

hall99
03-21-2011, 10:03 AM
I have never been able to run a 35 1/2 inch drive shaft in a Mastersbilt car (smack or gen x) with an open motor. I have with a crate motor with no problems, I run a 34 1/2 with a longer yoke with an open motor.

mudderfudder
03-23-2011, 04:00 PM
I did jack car up last night under seat until the lr was about to lift off the ground and there was like an inch travel left. Is this enough clearence?

Matt49
03-24-2011, 07:42 AM
I would run it.

MasterSbilt65
04-04-2011, 10:14 PM
We have a GenX what lenth with a bert ball spline does a person need?

dchamp3
04-05-2011, 09:24 PM
We run a 39''

bizkit
04-06-2011, 08:54 AM
I run a Flacon trans and have a gen-x and I knocked the seals out with a 35" shaft. I run a 34.5" now

crate late
04-06-2011, 01:44 PM