PDA

View Full Version : Brinn transmission

racing12
04-16-2011, 11:40 PM
When shifting from low to high, how high do you have the rpms? I jacked my car up just to see if it was working and it worked fine in low and at about 3000 rpms i tried to shift to high and it would just grind. This is my first year so i really don't know anything about it. Thanks.

hpontap
04-17-2011, 04:16 AM
Some will shift at lower rpms than others but they all need to be up in rpm to do so.
I never looked at the tach but just guessing around 3,500-4,000 should shift easily.

Egoracing
04-17-2011, 09:37 AM
Are you letting out on the clutch and shifting or trying to pull it into high while still on the clutch?

HEAVY DUTY
04-17-2011, 10:47 AM
They dont shift well jacked up because the low gear idler shaft slows down too fast when you let off the throttle.You need to be rolling so the low gear shaft keeps moving.If it shifts into high gear with the engine not running it should shift rolling, unless the clutch doesnt release.

racing12
04-17-2011, 11:59 AM
Ya i let the clutch all the way out before i would try to shift into high. Ya it shifts into high with the engine not running so i will have to try it on the ground and see what happens. Thanks for the info.

racin6mod
04-17-2011, 12:29 PM
you need to let out as you shift one steady movement.

racing12
04-17-2011, 09:30 PM
Ok. I was told to let the clutch out all the way then put it into high.

dirttrackrocker
04-18-2011, 09:49 AM
actually, you do it just like you would shift a car without using the clutch. 3000 seems high. I get the car rolling about 15 mph and let out on the pedal and pull it into gear. It will not work with the wheels off the ground.

racing12
04-18-2011, 10:01 AM
ok thank you. also how firm should the pedal be. i had it on the ground and rolling in low and i had to push the pedal almost all the way down to go.

dirttrackrocker
04-18-2011, 11:26 AM