PDA

View Full Version : Fuel Issues

buterbaughb1
06-04-2011, 11:48 PM
I've been having fuel pressure issues all year and I'm fairly new to this, so I'm stumped. The fuel pressure has been real erratic, jumping all around at speed. It would then run consistently at 9-10 lbs., so i put a regulator on it to keep it consistent at 7, and it still would flutter and cut out when at the end of the straights or when i pick the throttle back up in the turns. I've got a brand new carburetor, new regulator, and a brand new fuel pump. Any ideas? I have a -10AN line to the pump and a 3/8" line to the carb.

usafracer
06-05-2011, 01:04 AM
What fuel are you running? What kind of filter do you run?

What kind of pump is it? What style of pump is it?

82Motorsports
06-05-2011, 08:15 AM
That 3/8 line won't cut it. Should be at least a 08an I believe. It's too restrictive as you have it now and you're running out of fuel in the carb.

Egoracing
06-05-2011, 11:36 AM
I agree, a 3/8 is a -6 line and you need a -8 which would be a 1/2 inch.

buterbaughb1
06-06-2011, 11:24 AM
What fuel are you running? What kind of filter do you run?

What kind of pump is it? What style of pump is it?

I run 113 VP, not sure on the part number on the fuel filter but its a WIX filter and is 8" long, its close to the tank. Its a Holley Keith Dorton Series High Perf. Pump, mechanical.

Thanks for the tips. Ill make an -8AN line this week.

gadirtracer
06-06-2011, 02:15 PM
Sucking air somewhere between cell and pump?
Does the engine miss or just inconsistant fuel pressure @ the gauge?(Bad gauge?)

Egoracing
06-06-2011, 05:52 PM
Is your filter the round one that you unscrew the end to open it? If so make sure that the open end of teh element is to the front, then the spring and then you cap it and the incoming fuel hits the closed end of the filter element. If it is the other way the fuel pump will pull the filter forward and shut off the fuel supply.

buterbaughb1
06-07-2011, 11:39 AM