PDA

View Full Version : Newer Rayburn question

F22 RAPTOR
06-06-2011, 02:09 PM
I was looking at a 2010 Rayburn frame someone has for sale on here and RacingJunk, I'm not trying to throw them under the bus, but I have some doubts about the pic provided. Has Rayburn changed the way he builds his cars? This car has a crossmember like an older Mastersbilt, that and the front crossmember looks like an older Mastersbilt also. This car also has bolt-on front bumper... Supposedly this car has never been assembled. I havent seen a newer Rayburn in person, so I was hoping somebody who had actually seen or worked on one could shed some light. Below is the ad picture from RacingJunk.

joedoozer
06-06-2011, 02:42 PM
I am by no means an expert on this. But that doesn't look like the Rayburns I have seen.

Front X member is totally different, I remember Rayburns using just a single bar, braced on the back side. With a plate for the rack. In that pic it looks like the main frame rails are square tube. I don't think I have seen a square tube Rayburn before. The bumper could be something someone has changed.

I am sure there are some Rayburn cars on the forum, maybe they can post some comparison pics.

MasterSbilt_Racer
06-06-2011, 02:54 PM
I haven't seen a square tube Rayburn for quite a while.

F22 RAPTOR
06-06-2011, 07:19 PM
You can still get a square tube Rayburn I'm sure, but the cross-members are Mastersbilt type and the forward tubes off the Halo are more like a Rocket or a Masters. Rayburn has never done bolt on bumpers and supposedly this is a new 2010 car that was never assembled or raced... I think its the wrong pic or somebody is trying to sell a pig in a poke. JMO

profab00
06-06-2011, 07:36 PM
I have a 2010 Rayburn with bolt on bumpers. Not sure that Rayburn done it tho as the chassis was sold to me new by someone other than Rayburn. Front cross looks similar to mine also.

F22 RAPTOR
06-06-2011, 07:49 PM