PDA

View Full Version : LR Bite question

dirttrackrocker
06-11-2011, 10:25 AM
I have a 200# in the LR and to get the bite I want I have to put quite a bit of pre load on it. Is it better to just go to a heavier spring, or keep the same spring and pre load it??

tumbleweed
06-11-2011, 05:34 PM
I have a 200# in the LR and to get the bite I want I have to put quite a bit of pre load on it. Is it better to just go to a heavier spring, or keep the same spring and pre load it??

Is this a 4-bar car? If so I'm curious to some of the replies. I just never heard running that much LR bite in a 4-bar. I thought most were in the 25-40 # range. I'm new to the 4-bar so waiting on some replies.

dirttrackrocker
06-11-2011, 05:52 PM
I guess I'll clarify a little better. I have a 200# SPRING in the LR and to get 40# of bite I have to pre load it quite a bit, I was thinking of going to a 250# spring with less pre load.

TCmod
06-12-2011, 11:31 AM
This last race my 200 lbs spring had 375 lbs of preload. 1 7/8" compressed at full drop.

johnny v
06-12-2011, 07:18 PM
I guess I'll clarify a little better. I have a 200# SPRING in the LR and to get 40# of bite I have to pre load it quite a bit, I was thinking of going to a 250# spring with less pre load.

Mark Bush has pages and pages of data on this in his articles ( dirt mod mag)... but the bottom line is the softer spring with pre load (imho) is better because it keeps the car on the spring during hike on the LR...some care and some don't...
A spring holds up the LR of the car.... say you have 520# on the scale... minus the lever or motion ratio.... you compress it 2.5 inches and its really a 450# spring anyway...(made up numbers for example only)

texas racer
06-14-2011, 12:11 AM