PDA

View Full Version : Power Steering help

lilsumo
08-03-2011, 07:06 PM
Looking for a poor mans way of installing powersteering.
the car I bought has the remote reservoir on it and the lines, but I am looking for a cheaper way than buying the KRC kit or the southwest speed kit. Someone said a pump off a cavalier would work but I'd have to buy a pulley and a fitting, but i cant find the pulley there talking about.

This is my first car so be patient, I'm still learning.

Thanks for any help.

dirttrackrocker
08-04-2011, 09:38 AM
Until about a year ago, I have always used a stock GM pump. The key is you have to use a reduction pulley on the crank, the stock pulley on the pump is OK. Also make sure you use power steering fluid and not ATF. ATF foams. I know there's gonna be someone that pipes up and says it won't work, but, I have done it for many years, and I know others that are still doing it. A racing pump is the way to go, but, as long as your not turning crazy RPM's a stock pump will work.

powerslide
08-04-2011, 09:55 AM
get a junkyard cavalier pump and a old pulley off something in the yard as well and get machine shop to add pulley to pump. still have mine sitting on my parked emod

johnny v
08-04-2011, 06:43 PM
Hey, we like the poor mans way of doing things, most of us over 40-55 yrs old started off "Building Race Cars" from junk, not "Buying Race Cars" the way most do it today.....

Powerslide is right.... I put power steering on a old super modified way back in the 70's with stock GM pumps with the small pulley out in front of a double sheave pulley on the Harmonic balancer..... ran pretty much the same setup all the way into the 90's on the first IMCA mods I messed with.....

ran this setup on the old Charlyne (sp?) power assist unit's, then profile power steering units (sprint car -super mod type) , on to early chevelle gm power steering units, metrics, etc...

It will work... no problem

Graff Spee
08-04-2011, 08:52 PM