PDA

View Full Version : Newbie drag racer wanting to race mod's????

jsf74
08-14-2011, 12:30 PM
Hey fellas I'm new to this game and would just like some advise on where to start. I'm gonna run at butler in southern mi on a 3/8 mile banked track. There are so many options on what to run I'm kind of overwhelmed. I've talked to a few local guys and they all have different ideas on what's needed. I'm not looking to run top just log some laps and get my feet wet. What should I look for as far as car and motor?

usafracer
08-14-2011, 02:42 PM
Something that is cheap and comes with a lot of spair parts. You are going to need them.

johnny v
08-14-2011, 02:59 PM
Hey fellas I'm new to this game and would just like some advise on where to start. I'm gonna run at butler in southern mi on a 3/8 mile banked track. There are so many options on what to run I'm kind of overwhelmed. I've talked to a few local guys and they all have different ideas on what's needed. I'm not looking to run top just log some laps and get my feet wet. What should I look for as far as car and motor?

You should probably go to one of dirt driving schools first or go rent a ride in a factory stock class or a hobby car....even a limited mod class or b mod would get you going cheaper and with less initial money outlay....Someone who has never cut a lap on dirt has no business making his first laps on a banked 3/8 dirt track in a A mod or outlaw Mod....IMHO.. but good luck and once you try it, you will be hooked;)

jsf74
08-14-2011, 03:43 PM
I would love to go to a dirt school but the closest one I know of is way down south. Is their anything close to Michigan and where in the world would I rent a ride to take some laps. I would be more than happy to lay out some cash for some lessons or test laps.

ultramax25
08-14-2011, 04:43 PM