PDA

View Full Version : How much should I have to preload LR spring

modsrock
08-31-2011, 09:41 AM
OK forgive me if some of this elementary, but, I'm new to mods. I have been racing Stock cars for about 20 years.

I have an older mod with a metric clip and metric lowers. Heres what I am running

LF Spring 800 RF spring 1050

LR Spring 250 RR Spring 175

OK before you start on the 1050 RF, anything lighter bottoms out. I read a thread from the guy that builds lightening chassis and he said metrics with metric lowers need to be in that range.. OK on to my question. With that much RF and LR spring in it I shouldn't have to put much preload on the spring to get 30# of bite should I? I also have about 60# mounted high on the Left side. I have a 16" 250# spring and I have to compress it about 3 inches to get 30# of bite. I can't see where the chassis is bent or tweaked, but, I'm thinking it has to be. I have checked the suspension for binds and everything is working free.

bluemod
09-05-2011, 08:02 PM
i am having the same problems i am new to mods and i have a lighting and im tring to figure this out also if i put the ride heights were there spose to be i have -bite if i compress it 3 in i have like 40 pounds

rocketmod19
09-05-2011, 08:42 PM
i wouls personally soften the rf up to atleast a 900 even though you say it bottoms it out you could have to much chassis role making it bottom out i personally run a metric clipped mod with metric lowers and i run softer then that and dont bottom out. your heavy rf spring could be why you cant get enough so called pre load heavy spring will collect that weight. are you having a problem with the lr spring coming off the spring cups at hike up use a softer lr spring in a tall version and bump up the lr wedge. i see guys ask about preload but never understand why casue when you scale the car goes to where you set it and thats what your springs will have on them

dirttrackrocker
09-05-2011, 09:04 PM
????? Say What???

modsrock