PDA

View Full Version : Old Frame With Cracks Good or Not

Rosenbluth
11-09-2011, 12:11 PM
I got an 04 Mastersbilt that has ballpark 150 nites of weekly racing on it. From 2005 to 2011. Spec motor stuff on hard tires. Regardless, it has a lot of laps. It seems to not be the car that it used to be. Seems to not respond to changes like it used to. My guess is that it is flexing or such. There are also a few cracks forming here and there. My question is, can this frame be saved? Can I brace a few critical areas to get it rigid again to get another season out of this car? Like the car, just want to get it back to the way it was 2 or 3 years ago.

MasterSbilt_Racer
11-09-2011, 12:27 PM
Those old cars are bad about that. You can weld it all up, but I doubt it will be exactly the same ever again. I assume you have some cracks in the halo area? I would probably can it and be safe.

EAMShater
11-09-2011, 12:53 PM
I have always heard that about mastersbuilt cars. they are bad fast but they are throw away cars kinda. race it for a year win everything and get a new one. I'm not bashing em just what everyone has told me. This may not be a problem with their new cars.. Idk.. I've never truely looked at one up close to know how they're built. I know my Bwrc is built like a fortress. Which I think tends to hurt me a little. The 06 grt my buddy has will flew all kind of ways and they say when they start crackin they start really gettin fast and he just had to weld a few places back up and the car is pretty dang fast

Rosenbluth
11-09-2011, 12:56 PM
No cracks in the halo area. One of the motor plate tabs is cracked around the weld pretty bad. Then on the LR where the J-Bar sq tube meets the round frame rail is cracked. Just was curious if it is cracking because it is flexing so much, or if I can weld it up, maybe add a few bars to rigid it up and keep going. Safety wise, I think we are still ok.
Thanks

joedoozer
11-09-2011, 01:05 PM