PDA

View Full Version : saginaw over a bert

lilsumo
11-30-2011, 03:36 PM
Would someone please explain to me why these guys that writes rules for the sport mod type classes wont let you run a Bert,Brinn,Falcon trans.

I think it's crazy, by the time you buy a 3 speed Saginaw (and they are getting harder to find and more expensive) and lighten it up, buy a triple disc clutch setup and flywheel, its about the cost of Bert.

I didn't include the power glide cause I have no experience with them, but from what I have read, a good TCI glide is around 1k. So it's in the same ballpark.

Doesn't IMCA say you have to run stock style bell housing and starter in the modified with a Bert?

That's a great that should be adopted to the sport mod type classes.

There may be another reason they make sport mods use very old hard to find parts, but I cant seem to figure out what it is.

Dirtrunner35
11-30-2011, 09:32 PM
I run a saginaw in my ump mod, stock style clutch and trans is not lightened.

Racer111
12-01-2011, 01:07 PM
Main reason for that is people that make the rules up cant read a parts book pricing !! They havent relized yet junk yard racing is gone..

powerslide
12-01-2011, 02:13 PM
I run a saginaw in my ump mod, stock style clutch and trans is not lightened.

do you keep up?

badfast47
12-01-2011, 04:59 PM
I have been wondering if i got rid of my saginaw and dual clutch then went to a bert how weight would i lose ? Taking some weight off the car is one big thing i want to do this winter. Should help?

Racer111
12-01-2011, 06:30 PM
If you went to a bert your engine will rev and shut down alot faster..

Dirtrunner35
12-01-2011, 09:08 PM
do you keep up?

I did very well this year with the saginaw, I was 4th in points and fell back to 6th. I agree a saginaw is probably not the best trans to use for weight with the heavy clutch set up compared to a bert. I don't have near the money in this compared to a bert.