PDA

View Full Version : fuel cell ?

andy16
02-29-2012, 10:27 PM
I have calculated my cars gas consumption to be 8 gallons a night. hot laps qualify and race equal a total of 8 gallons. so why would i need a 32 gallon cell unless im running a hundred laps on alcohol ? wouldn a 15 gallon cell do the job for me. i have never ran a race longer than 50 laps and dont plan too. i am looking to get a new cell and want to be practical about it. i used to fill up the 32 gallon for weight because im a light driver but i made plenty of weights over the winter. plus thats less gas sloshing around and safer in a crash. ive always used the foam but i still suspect there will be some sloshing? whats the smallest someone has ran and got away with? i calculate my car is getting 4 miles to the gallon. track size .4 of a mile ten hot laps 2 qualify 40 lap race = basically 21 miles 4mpg/21 miles a night =6 gallons plus track roll in plus ridin around in pit and shop start up and check = total of 8 gallons a night. so if i fill up my 15 gallon tank 15x4mpg=60 miles on 1 tank. 100 laps on a .4 mile track = 40 miles. well below the sixty miles worth of gas i have?

is my math right or wrong lol. have been known to screw things up lol. so could fill up the 15 gal cell and add led to car for weight. then position smaller fuell cell in more optimum location? thanks in advance

Egoracing
02-29-2012, 10:54 PM
32 gallon cells were designed for alcohol and they will not make 100 laps running a Super Late model. After most Super races went to 75-100 laps alcohol went away and gas came into use. When the switch started everyone went to a 26 gallon cell for gas for 100 laps. Running what you are 18-20 gallons should be fine.

andy16
02-29-2012, 11:40 PM
makes sense thanks

mab475
03-01-2012, 12:18 AM
Ran 40 laps on a 6/10ths mile track that gets bolted down rubbered up with 450 ci engine and a 22 gallon cell with no problems.

andy16
03-01-2012, 12:49 AM
good info thanks

sj valley dave