PDA

View Full Version : At track chassis tuning guides

joedoozer
04-17-2012, 02:12 PM
I have a feeling that this thread might get out of hand......but here goes, lol.

I am still learning the workings of the 4 link. Finally getting the handle on a good base line to take to the track. I have had a pretty good track record of adjusting the car to changing track conditions. I have 2 "cheat sheets" I use to decide what to change on the car, I don't have the confidence to make a change without confirming it at this point lol.

This one
http://www.larryshaw.com/printablesetupsheet.pdf

and this one (kind of big)
http://www.afabcorp.com/exp/files/resourcesmodule/@random440610d5778ca/1168265974_circle_tuning.pdf

For the most part I use the Afco one, but I like the format of the Shaw one, it's easier to look through and compare changes. But there are differences in both guides. Wedge for example and LLB too. Is the Afco guide more accurate? Should I stop referring to the Shaw one?

On another note. I am just bouncing ideas around in my head here. Generally speaking increased bar angles means increased load to that tire. On Left Side bars the increased angle increases the load on the LR, and also roll steers the LR forward. Is it safe to assume the forward drive added to the LR out weighs the added roll steer? I have made a LUB adjustment before to tighten the car on exit before. That means more load to the LR. And the added roll steer wasn't enough to cause a loose condition.

I keep notes on how the adjustments effect the car. But I like having the guide to turn to when I need it. I am just wondering what one is correct and what one should I take out of my book.

joedoozer
04-17-2012, 02:18 PM
Raising the LLB on the frame would add more roll steer than the upper bar, because it's shorter. That would loosen the car. Maybe I answered one of my questions myself haha.

MasterSbilt_Racer
04-17-2012, 02:25 PM