PDA

View Full Version : need some advice and help

mayhem148
05-03-2012, 04:52 PM
first i just want to say whats up to everyone since im new here.

about 2 years ago i did some horse trading and got a southern sportmod roller. the car is a bit rough but i have it so i wanted to race it. well it took awhile but i got the car together.
i went to our local track and ran the car. i had a bunch of B/S problems but atleast got to make a few hot laps and half the heat. it was my first time in a race car on the track.
ive made a few laps in my big field but never on a dirt oval. the first thing that i found out is that my car handles like a boat. it pushed through the curves and squirly in the straights.
i dont have alot of money in this car yet. not as much time as i should either. i didnt want to put alot of time and money into something i have never done before just to find out its not
my thing. well it is my thing so i want to get it right. (i shouldve not even ask myself if i was gonna like it cause i knew i would love it) i know alot about the engine side. i know after
a little tuning i will not have a power problem keeping up with even the back of the pack.

my thing is im kinda confused on setting up chassis. the car i have is all backwards i think. the FL feels real loose while the FR is super super stiff. almost feels solid.
im not sure what spring is there but its coming out. they have a tubular upper a arm on the FL that has a bunch of spacers that turns the arm to shove the ball joint foward.
yet everything seemed to still out of wack and the ball joint still shoved back. which in one way can be a good thing but not for what im wanting to do with it.
after looking closer the tube a arm is upside down. is this common? is this a trick that i have never heard about? i know the car has a lot of tire flop when you turn the wheels.