PDA

View Full Version : nova lower ?

texas pride
05-04-2012, 12:36 PM
ok i have a 4 bar modified with a metric clip and i have metric lowers but i dont like having to run stiff springs so im thinking about going to nova lowers but i think i heard somthing about having to run special bushings with novas in order to fit a metric chassis i know when your running nova lowers on metric you have swap the lowers to the oppsite side. so if you have to have special bushings and please corect if im wrong about that. where would you buy the bushings for a set of nova's.im fairley new to mods so im still learning. thanks for the help guys

racinjj
05-04-2012, 02:12 PM
The biggest obstical you will have is relocating the screw jacks and shock mounts. You just need some spacers (1/2" id and 1/2" long) in the front mount because the nova lowers are narrower in the "front" bushing than the metric. Its not a simple bolt up, their is some fab work to get it all correct. Plus it widens the front track of the car so you should put at least 1" of spacers on each side in the rear if you have a 58" housing.

texas pride
05-05-2012, 12:04 AM
Where can I get the bushings ? Does speedway sale them

racin6mod
05-05-2012, 10:29 AM
any local machine shop can make the spacers for you. as stated above this is not a simple thing to do correctly.the reason for the stiffer springs on a metric front end is more about motion ratio the wheel will see pretty much the same rate. the nova lowers are more about widening the track width you'll need to change tie rods lengths and most everything in the frontend,I've seen racers try to just change the lowers and go racing that does not work.

HEAVY DUTY
05-05-2012, 10:41 AM