PDA

View Full Version : LR Hike/drop

72RACIN
05-06-2012, 04:47 PM
Does allowing the LR to drop more tighten the car (added bite) or loosen the car (added roll steer)?
With what track conditions do you change increase/decrease the drop?

johnny v
05-06-2012, 06:32 PM
according to the experts and books.... having too much droop or hike doesn't add any more bite....just a little more roll steer .....
At some point, its just shoving the frame higher... not adding any more forward drive on the chassis.... so they say set the hike by setting the upper bar angle at 44 to 46* at full droop....by adjusting your chain to that degree of upper bar angle.....

robbie124
05-17-2012, 02:08 PM
im new to dirt racing and i am working on this hike drop stuff too bernie at b&s to me i need 40degree but i ran out of shock travel so i got an extention on the way but when i took the shock loose and lift the left side of the car the weight jack comes out of the spring b4 40 degree what am i doing wrong here im at 19degree at ride hight

johnny v
05-17-2012, 07:38 PM
IMHO-
All the large drop and chain lengths are being based on the idea you have either coil over eliminators or coil overs...... normal 4 bar setup stuff......

these set ups come off the spring all the time... LR and RR.....there are tons of video showing this all over u-tube....

Tell us what type of car and rear suspension you are dealing with......

robbie124
05-18-2012, 12:38 AM
IMHO-
All the large drop and chain lengths are being based on the idea you have either coil over eliminators or coil overs...... normal 4 bar setup stuff......

these set ups come off the spring all the time... LR and RR.....there are tons of video showing this all over u-tube....

Tell us what type of car and rear suspension you are dealing with......

b&s modified spring in front lr spring on top rr 4 bar with brake bar i have no idea what a coil over eliminators even look like but i know i dont have coil overs.. shocks r behind on both sides