PDA

View Full Version : New to leaf springs. Any help would help out alot

nebraskabowhunter
05-20-2012, 09:32 PM
I am new to leaf spring. I run multi leaf on both r and l. I can not run Fastboy set up. I run IMCA rules. What adjustments can I make for a lose car and what do I make for a tight car. I have read alot about the leafs spring cars and have seen that these cars are totally differant then the 3 bar ect cars. Any help would be awesome.

RUEF52
05-20-2012, 10:26 PM
Tail weight

Dirtrunner35
05-21-2012, 09:38 AM
Depends on the car and driver and what it's doing now. You allowed shackles ? Like ruef52 suggested tail weight

johnny v
05-21-2012, 06:50 PM
I am new to leaf spring. I run multi leaf on both r and l. I can not run Fastboy set up. I run IMCA rules. What adjustments can I make for a lose car and what do I make for a tight car. I have read alot about the leafs spring cars and have seen that these cars are totally differant then the 3 bar ect cars. Any help would be awesome.

agree with the others.... load it up with fuel / weight in the slick.... move the shackles / front eye of the spring up and down to get it where you want.......(scales or trial and error)
Then everytime the car stops... put a jack under the car to hold it off the springs... never let it down on the springs unless the car is on the track or on a set of scales.... don't even tow it to the track sitting on the springs....block it up with something...... Or you will be buying leaf springs by the truck load......
Leaf springs can be real fast, they are real simple , they do the anti-squat deal better than anything... but you have to keep them fresh.....you can go broke buying multileaf springs if you don't keep the weight off of them......