PDA

View Full Version : Need help quick

tyler383
06-01-2012, 09:11 AM
I Just bought my first mod, Came with everything but motor, Has Bert transmission, I have a motor(400 SBC) actual 408CI but does not have any components, I need to know what I can run on a BUDGET to get me started and get some seat time towards the end of the year, I need a water pump, fuel pump, power steering pump and I need everything from the flyheel to the tranny, It came with a Aluminum GM Bell housing, Im new to this so help me out. Thanks in advance.

dirttrackrocker
06-01-2012, 09:20 AM
The only thing between the flywheel and the tranny is a coupler, you can buy them from Speedway or other sources. I would get rid of the aluminum bell and get a steel one. If you're running gas, just get a good mechanical fuel pump, and get a power steering pump with the tank attached it's much simpler. A decent water pump and a set of reduction pulleys.

tyler383
06-01-2012, 09:29 AM
I have the coupler I think, what about the flywheel what does most people buy? I was told I need
an externally balaced flywheel, Ive read where some people are using 1-1 Pulleys.

jsf74
06-01-2012, 09:30 AM
Make sure you get the coupler for the Bert with the correct balance. Internal or external for your motor. Buy a nice set of alum pulleys according to the rpm you intend to run and a decent alum pump. And like posted already I wish I would have bought my ps pump with the tank attached and not external.

Egoracing
06-01-2012, 09:40 AM