PDA

View Full Version : Schoenfeld Header for Rocket

derricklong38
11-30-2012, 05:20 PM
And has anyone tried the 2 step header? With the 3 different tube sizes?

Going on a 604 crate.

Finally read the graph i guess, answered my own question

sj valley dave
12-01-2012, 01:39 PM
Depends on your engine...Std exhaust port, spread port, SB2 head, etc....anywhere from 1 5/8" to 2" depending on inches and HP...

dynoman14
12-10-2012, 07:37 PM
Derrick,
I have been working on headers for 604's for the last 7 years pretty hard and have discovered some pretty impressive gains where others have not.

My headers are way different than anybody elses and only work with my program, I have tunable extensions and collectors as an option. Unless you are doing this you are PI$$ING in the wind as far as headers go. That is why none of you can tell a difference in the headers offered out there as they are all just about the same. Mine are not, You can ask any of my customers if they will tell you???

It all revolves around what you are turning your engine up to and how you have your distributor, carburetor, and ignition system built. Yes all of those things make a big difference. I have chassis dyno tested as much as a 100HP difference in one days work at say 7200rpms. That would be from pull #1 on a Bone stock 604, to draining out the synthetic Mobil 1 they come with and washing out the engine 3 times to get all that crap out of there. Once that is done a proper loaded break in can take place with break in oil. The net results of that process and about 4 hours of work is 25-30RWHP.

If you do not get proper break in the max I have seen on the older 604's is about 440-450, the newer ones are about 20 better if you have a good set of heads on your engine.