PDA

View Full Version : j-bar -vs- straight bar ??????

racinjason29
01-20-2013, 05:50 PM
I have a Rayburn swingarm that currently has a straight bar. What would the straight bar do -vs- what a j-bar would do. Whats the difference in handling, and what are some suggestions? Im new to latemodels so if you need more info on the current setup of the car just ask, thanks in advance!

7uptruckracer
01-21-2013, 10:49 AM
The shorter bar will gain dynamic angle or rake quicker. More and quicker hike or roll over

Matt49
01-21-2013, 11:14 AM
7up is correct assuming we are talking short bar mounted from the left side of the pinion to the left side of the chassis.
This can be a good setup for stop and go race tracks. Car will rotate quickly because of the sudden rear steer and have good LR bite coming off because of the way the bar loads the rear end.

7uptruckracer
01-21-2013, 11:36 AM
You normally have to run less static rake when you set it up because that short bar does gain rake a lot quicker! Good luck!

racinjason29
01-21-2013, 05:58 PM
I run typically on small 1/4 -3/8 tracks. Tight corners, so the straight bar would be a better choice for these tracks? The bar is mounted on the left side of the chassis to the left side of the pinion plate. What happens when I move it up and down on the chassis or pinion plate?

abe_05
01-21-2013, 07:03 PM
If you are running pull bar, you will have to pay close attention to pinion angle and keeping rearend in same spot (left to right). Measure from brake rotor to bolt mount at swing arm on frame. Unless you have the updated new pull bar mount that Rayburn has come out with. If not, I would highly reccomend looking at updating and changing to new pull bar system.

Matt49
01-21-2013, 07:13 PM