PDA

View Full Version : Newb question.....Leaf spring car.

racerj5
04-09-2013, 11:53 AM
I've been running go-karts for 30 years and want to knock the Late Model off the bucket list. I've found a really clean starter roller that I'm gonna be able to pick up for around $1500. Mid-90's Stinger. I know most everybody is on a link, swingarm or z-link setup now, but could I make this car work? Car has around 10 races total, and I know the original owner. I've never been in a big car before and I don't want to spend a ton of $$ till I get some seat time.That way, if I knock the wall down, I'm not gonna be out that much. I will be running the crate/sportsman class at Tazewell Speedway. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

ALF401
04-09-2013, 08:55 PM
If you want to try driving for one year then moving on to the next bucket list item, them go to the leaf car. If you want to compete for years to come, get something more modern with the current technology. No much to learn to go forward with a leaf car. JMO

racerj5
04-10-2013, 02:22 AM
Thanks, Alf. I want to stay in a car and really don't wanna go back to go karts. Tracks are too far away, too many classes and too many wannabe nascar drivers. Somebody's getting upside down every week and I'm too fat and old to get slung out of a kart. I've spoken with someone at Warrior as well, and they tell me that Tazewell, with the banking and high bite, is just too demanding on a leaf car and I'd be replacing the leafs every 4-5 races. Any other advice you have will be well received.

m_stagev
04-10-2013, 07:51 AM