PDA

View Full Version : Caster Question?

Duckhnter83
04-15-2013, 07:22 PM
As you all can probably tell I'm new to the modified and am trying to learn as much as possible. I bought an old dirt works 2 link and I'm running it as a sport mod. I bought this off a guy who was pretty new at the game himself.My question comes to I recently bought a caster camber gauge and checked them I run a 3/8 mile high banked track and the caster is set at +6 1/4 on the left and +12 on the right. I followed the directions that came with my caster camber gauge to measure it. Are these set to high? Dirt works says it should be 1 1/2 lf and 4 rf. What are the benefits or disadvantages of having it set so high? Also camber is set +2 on left and -3 on right does this sound about right?

johnny v
04-15-2013, 07:36 PM
As you all can probably tell I'm new to the modified and am trying to learn as much as possible. I bought an old dirt works 2 link and I'm running it as a sport mod. I bought this off a guy who was pretty new at the game himself.My question comes to I recently bought a caster camber gauge and checked them I run a 3/8 mile high banked track and the caster is set at +6 1/4 on the left and +12 on the right. I followed the directions that came with my caster camber gauge to measure it. Are these set to high? Dirt works says it should be 1 1/2 lf and 4 rf. What are the benefits or disadvantages of having it set so high? Also camber is set +2 on left and -3 on right does this sound about right?

I think your either measuring wrong or having some issues..... Camber is close , the newer theory is a little more... say 4.5 + LF, 5.25 - RF.... but that is a ton of caster..... you should run somewhere around +2.5 LF, +5.5 RF..... driver feel is more what you base caster and caster split on...... you are turning the wheels 20* , resetting the 0 bubble, and then turning it past straight and then turning 20* more and taking the reading, Right?

dirttrackrocker
04-15-2013, 08:03 PM