PDA

View Full Version : handling help?

redracersmod
07-25-2013, 09:29 AM
I have a dw7 2 link being run as a sport mod. the car handles great on a dry slick which is what the track always is when the feature comes around. The car is super tight though when its tacky. I'm new to this so I'm looking at ways to loosen the car up when the track is tacky. The car doesn't want to set into the corner and pushes all the way through the corner.

Sportmod Rookie
07-25-2013, 10:28 AM
Where are brakes set at? Move more to the rear would be the easiest adjustment.

speedbuggy
07-25-2013, 10:58 AM
You might try spacing the RR and LF out for the tacky, then put them back for the slick.

racinjj
07-25-2013, 11:30 AM
You can lower the left trailing arm, raise the right side trailing arm to give more roll steer, take some bite out, raise the panhard bar, all will free the car up in different ways.

redracersmod
07-25-2013, 11:38 AM
Would you guys explain what to expect from each adjustment. And how much it would affect the car. also how much should a guy move the panhard at a time? An inch, half inch, 1/8 of an inch?Sorry if I sound dumb but I'm trying to learn so not only can I be a competitive racer but also so I don't tear up other guys cars by doing the wrong thing.

racinjj
07-25-2013, 02:21 PM
Move the panhard bar in 1/2" increments until you find what you like. Raising the panhard bar will make the car roll less in the rear and which may tighten entry slightly but will loosen the car mid turn. Taking bite out for me has almost no change on entry but will free the car up on throttle and tends to slow down the LR hike. Lowering teh LR trailing arm will reduce the hike and thus take drive away from the LR which will make the car looser. I come to the track with my car setup loose for the normal tacky track in the heat and then I do the oposite of the changes above to tighten the car when the track slicks off.

speedbuggy
07-25-2013, 03:15 PM