PDA

View Full Version : Left side chain drop

d3man
08-27-2013, 09:50 AM
I am new to dirt racing and have a dirt mod and am wondering what is a safe amout of drop on the left rear or is there no limit except shock travel? Thanks

MM90
08-27-2013, 09:56 AM
If your shock mount isn't adjustable then I would set the chain so the shock doesn't get topped out at hike. Jack the car up under the driver seat area until the LR tire is just off the ground. Otherwise adjust the chain so the LU bar doesn't go over 45-47 degrees at full drop.

Modlitefan0
08-27-2013, 10:52 AM
We do just the opposite of what MM90 said. With our shock topped out our chain is just barely loose. We have found that if the chain gets tight before the shock bottoms out, the car tries to pick the LR off the ground. Everyone has a different opinion on this so it is something else you can try and see if you like it or not.EDIT: We do have an adjustable shock mount though, for what it is worth.

MM90
08-27-2013, 11:07 AM
So do you set your bar angle by the shock then? I put a camera under my rear suspenion last week and the LR chain was always tight but never really noticed it picking up the LR tire. I'll try it your way and see how I like it. The guy that had my car before me pulled his LR shock apart because he didn't have it dropped enough so that's why I set mine the way I do.

speedbuggy
08-27-2013, 11:32 AM
We do just the opposite of what MM90 said. With our shock topped out our chain is just barely loose. We have found that if the chain gets tight before the shock bottoms out, the car tries to pick the LR off the ground. Everyone has a different opinion on this so it is something else you can try and see if you like it or not.EDIT: We do have an adjustable shock mount though, for what it is worth.

Why is this not a good way to ruin a LR shock?

Renegade Cust Susp
08-27-2013, 12:04 PM