PDA

View Full Version : Bert Ball Spline?

th_racer
10-27-2013, 10:47 PM
I have ran a Brinn in my modified forever, I'm new to the Late model and my car has a ball spline with an aluminum driveshaft. My question is are they worth the trouble with all the bad I hear about them as far as safety or should I pull it and run a Brinn ?

grt74
10-27-2013, 11:47 PM
I know you don't know me from adam but please do yourself this huge safety favor and get a carbon fiber drive shaft we have 3 years on one and its still in the car,with a ballspine if the driveshaft breaks @ say 5000 rpms or more that's how many times it will hit your legs or right side in a minute,and im sure as much as we spend on late models today 700 bucks wont break ya,and im sure your family thinks your worth 700 bucks,i put it right up there with a firesuit when it comes to a ballspline,carbon fiber is the only way to go with a ballspline

grt74
10-27-2013, 11:51 PM
the trans itself is a good piece,that is provided you do the maintenence

swartzman
10-28-2013, 11:35 AM
do your maintence and that does mean taking the tailshaft apart and cleaning it, good grease and your ready to roll.. the ones i have seen fail are a result from not doing proper maintence

lazermod3
10-28-2013, 07:29 PM
do your maintence and that does mean taking the tailshaft apart and cleaning it, good grease and your ready to roll.. the ones i have seen fail are a result from not doing proper maintence

Well said,(MAINTANCE)is the key.I have known racers to run the Bert Ballspline with steel driveshafts,and have had no issues at all.Now on the other hand the safer way to go is to use a carbon fiber shaft.

MasterSbilt_Racer
10-29-2013, 03:58 PM
All good advice here. Personally, I wouldn't run one without a CF shaft. I don't like the idea of a broken shaft staying attached to the trans.

7uptruckracer
10-30-2013, 10:08 AM