PDA

View Full Version : cross weight % and bite

Duckhnter83
03-26-2014, 09:14 PM
Im new to scaling my own car and trying to learn as much as i can so i can be succesfull and competitive. So my question is can you lower the cross weight percentage and increase lr bite? If so how?

kilroy be here
03-26-2014, 09:47 PM
more left side wieght

Duckhnter83
03-26-2014, 10:17 PM
Can you keep all the other percentages the same such as left and rear and still lower cross and increase bite? Like by moving weight around?

Anonymous24
03-27-2014, 12:55 AM
Balance is what your looking for. Extra ballast can be detrimental if you already weigh at minimum weight without it. Equal weight transfer to the right side wheels is optimal in dynamic. For example, if the RF loads up to lets say 850 lbs during cornering, you want the RR to load up to 850lbs also. Its better to relocate components such as fuel cell and battery to optimum locations to achieve proper weight transfer rather than adding ballast. Also you should set ride heights and weights with the driver in the car. Failure to do so will change Left side percentage and Bite when the driver climbs into the car. Also the ride heights change which also causes the control arm angles and rear suspension angles to change. That's my two cents.

jsf74
03-27-2014, 01:08 AM
i agree ^^^^^^

Anonymous24
03-27-2014, 01:36 AM
i agree ^^^^^^Thank you. Nice to see people who have taken the time to educate themselves on tuning (set-up) technology participate in these discussions.

speedbuggy
03-27-2014, 08:35 AM
Can you keep all the other percentages the same such as left and rear and still lower cross and increase bite? Like by moving weight around?

You cannot move weight (except vertically) without changing either left% or rear%.

To answer your question, you cannot lower cross and increase bite and keep the left% and rear% the same (unless you ADD weight to the car).

mod71m
03-27-2014, 09:11 AM