PDA

View Full Version : Falcon Transmission Issues

Lucky13x
08-21-2014, 04:11 AM
Ok first off let me state that I am brand new to modified racing, haven't raced a modified yet, and came up from 600cc dirt micro sprints. I have been around full size sprint cars and cars in generally most of my life but we don't know much about modified's. We bought a Hassy Chassis modified that came with a 421 SBC and what we were told was a bert transmission. Upon further inspection of the transmission we have figured out that it is actually a falcon transmission and am unsure on the engine size now. The current problem we are having is that the transmission with shift into low and reverse without any major issues but will not shift into high gear with the engine off. When trying to shift into high gear while driving it tries to go in but then kicks out. It seems to me like something internal is blocking it from completely going into high gear. We have tried adjusting the linkage without any success. We were hoping to get the car out once or twice this year before tearing into it replacing and rebuilding it as it needs. Any ideas on what could be causing this problem?

powerslide
08-21-2014, 11:34 AM
I would suggest sending it in to falcon or find someone local who has dealt with them. They have dent balls that keep it in gear and its pretty tricky to get correct. If nothing else try calling falcon they are made by these folks www.maverickperformance.com/

FlatTire
08-21-2014, 04:13 PM
I would call them up and ask for Charlie Castle. He is very smart and always very helpful. I've had the same one in my racecar for close to 10yrs now.
You might have to rock the car back and forth a little to get it into high gear with the engine off.