PDA

View Full Version : bump steer?

pfd60
11-07-2014, 10:46 AM
I am pretty new to late models. I was wondering if someone could explain bump steer and how to adjust it, and what results I am looking for. I know it has to do with the rf tie rod height on the rack but that's it. Thanks in advance!

powerslide
11-07-2014, 11:21 AM
http://www.hotrod.com/how-to/chassis-suspension/ctrp-1001-bump-steer-explained/

Its alot of math. And few can put it in words. Go google bumpsteer and read 3-4 articles on it then go check your car and start moving stuff to see what changes what.

drtracer27
11-07-2014, 05:03 PM
I believe Longacre has a pretty lengthy tech article on their website.

TheJet-09
11-07-2014, 08:32 PM
The same premise as any other link with a fixed mounting point and the opposite end travelling up/down (such as a 4-bar). The end that travels up/down works on an arc, so looking at it vertically it moves in/out (so on a spindle it would affect the toe). Your chassis manufacturer should have a spec for both fronts. I believe MasterSbilt is something like .0015" out on the LF and .0030" out on the RF during the first inch of bump.

grt74
11-07-2014, 10:51 PM
bump steer is the relationship between the lowers and the tie rod ends,its a big long drawn out deal but if done correctly, helps for consistent handling when turning threw the corners
1st set your rf tie rod to the exact length of your rf lower control arm(center to center)
2nd now you work on your angle and shim it to get it in spec(i myself never want the rf to toe in and no more than .030 out from ride height to 3 inches of travel)or use a rack with the slotted eyes(but if you do you'll need to mark them so if it does move you'll know where to put it back)