PDA

View Full Version : Bump Steer Gauge

zeroracing
04-13-2016, 12:52 PM
I am looking at buying a bump steer gauge, I know I could build one, but just don't have the free time to build a good one. I know lots of people liked the older long acre that fold up, but they no longer make that one and make a new version I have heard is not nearly as good. I looked at the Joes one it looks simple and clean.

Bottom line, which ones do you guys have and do you like it, or seen one that is better? I do want a digital single indicator if possible.

PushinTheLimit
04-13-2016, 01:07 PM
I just bought the one that Joe's makes. I don't have any experience with any other bumpsteer gauge out there... but I was a newbie doing bumpsteer and it's simple enough for me to figure out and use. It's a good quality piece.

hammond motorsports
04-13-2016, 01:12 PM
I do not use a bump steer gauge because they move the lower a arm but its the chassis that moves on the track. Just set car on ground at ride heights with the springs and shocks removed then move the chassis up or down with floor jacks to check the bump. This would be like using a pull down rig.

zeroracing
04-13-2016, 01:57 PM
Pushin thank you for the feedback, it looks clean and simple.

Hammond, so your checking toe as the car drops, good idea that is fairly simple. The pull down rig probably makes accurately measuring it even easier, along with a number of other things.

hammond motorsports
04-13-2016, 02:55 PM
yes . If you think about this the ball joint does not move up or down its the chassis that moves up or down . I found that changes the read out . I sure someone will say the ball joint does go up and down on the track ,it will if your racing in a cornfield lol.

Matt49
04-13-2016, 09:00 PM
The movement of the ball joint and the movement of the chassis are relative...to one another. It doesn't change the net result in dynamic toe.