PDA

View Full Version : Restart Technique

A ron
07-05-2016, 11:54 AM
Anyone have any advice for restart technique? I'm pretty new to racing as most know, I just seem to be getting plain smoked on restarts and I'm positive it's me and not the car.

RacerX10
07-05-2016, 05:30 PM
Watch the flagman, not the cars in front of you. When the green drops, hit the gas. If you bump somebody in front of you, they screwed up, not you.

I've been overly aggressive in this advice, but you get the idea. Watch the flagman on starts.

rakracing
07-05-2016, 06:26 PM
sorta like drag racing if ya see green your a day late, keep the car loaded, on gas and brake to hold it back, I tend to watch 2 to 3 cars in front for them to kick or hike up and be on the guy in front of you [not under him] screw him and yourself. if on the pole never restart the same spot or the same way

riddle28
07-06-2016, 06:24 AM
^ this guys got it. i wouldnt say watch the flagman unless youre first 3 rows or so or youll go through alot of bumpers. watch the attitude of the guys a few cars in front and trail brake all you can stand it

A ron
07-06-2016, 07:52 AM
Thanks guys I think that will help a ton

Matt49
07-06-2016, 10:38 AM
Try to watch a few rows ahead. Watching the flagman only works if he starts the race. Everywhere we race, the leader starts the race.
Also, if you race with the same group of guys week in and week out. Pay close attention to the starts and restarts of the races you're not in. Put what you see in your mental notebook. It could come in handy on a crucial restart in the future.

PushinTheLimit
07-06-2016, 10:49 AM
If I'm on the inside a few rows back, I will pull out to the left just enough to watch the leaders car and see when he's taking off. As soon as I see his car get up, I'm gone too.

RacerX10
07-06-2016, 12:54 PM
Watching the flagman only works if he starts the race.

That's what I was talking about, I should have been more specific.

AmickRacing
07-10-2016, 09:28 PM