Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Which Oil For 602 Crate?

I am a newbie to crate motors. I have a 602 crate. What weight and oil should I run in it? I'm thinking a 20W-50 synthetic, but I just want to make sure before I screw something up. Are there any brands to stay away from? Thanks!

I use Royal Purple 15-40. Good oil and easy to get.

we recommend a mix of Gibbs xp3 and xp6

Brad
    www.race-1.com

Thanks for the replies! Would 20-50 be bad for it?

20-50 won't be bad for the engine, but a thinner synthetic oil will produce less drag which = more HP and will provide longer life of your engine. We use and sell Joe Gibbs Racing oils.

Dont waste your money on Joe Gibbs oil.There are oils out there that are close to Gibbs qaulity and have high levels of zinc. Brad Penn,Mobil 1 and Pennzoil Racing oil all have high zinc. Gibbs oil is way to expensive to buy at a $14.00 1quart.

I spoke to the previous owner as well as the engine builder and they both suggested Mobil 1 15-50 Synthetic, so I bought a few cases to try out and see what I think.

Thumbs up

Quote Originally Posted by hsracer View Post
    Dont waste your money on Joe Gibbs oil.There are oils out there that are close to Gibbs qaulity and have high levels of zinc. Brad Penn,Mobil 1 and Pennzoil Racing oil all have high zinc. Gibbs oil is way to expensive to buy at a $15.00 1quart.
    I second that !! Very good oil but way overpriced !!!!
    Penn,Gibbs,Shaeffer's,Royal Purpal are all around the same in Performace & protection.
    All these oil's can be run for 500 laps if you :
    1 Keep air filter clean after each night
    2 replace oil filter every other night or 100 laps
    3 Run an oil cooler
    4 Keep water temps below 210
    Central IL Bert Transmission Rebuilder
    Brian (217)201-3640

We run mobil 1 5/30 its what the engine builder told us to use in our 602