Southern All Stars Blue/Grey 100 paying $10,000 to win set for Sun Nov 18th at Cherokee

HUNTSVILLE, AL (November 11, 2012)—After a four year absence, the Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series will return to Lennie Buff’s Cherokee Speedway paying $10,000 to win on Sunday Afternoon November 18, 2012 for the 22nd annual Blue/Grey 100.

The series’ last appearance to Cherokee Speedway was in November 2008 when Randle Chupp claimed the Blue/Grey 100 event win. The defending race winner is Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, GA who claimed the event win during the Ulitmate Series-sanctioned race in 2011. Multiple winners of the Blue/Grey 100 include Freddy Smith (three times); Scott Bloomquist (three times); Chris Madden (three times) and Donnie Moran (two times).

Randy Weaver of Crossville, TN holds a 110 point lead over current runner-up and Rookie of the Year leader Mike Weeks of Friendsville, TN in the SAS championship point standings. Shan Smith of Dade City, FL, Billy Ogle Jr. of Knoxville, TN and Skip Arp of Georgetown, TN reside in third through fifth in series points. David Payne of Murphy, NC won the series’ most recent event at the Toccoa (GA) Speedway during the Georgia State Championship race on October 27th where he collected his first-career SAS victory over Casey Roberts of Toccoa, GA and Mike Weeks of Friendsville, TN.

In addition to the SAS Late Models on Sunday running practice, group qualifying, heat races, Last Chance Showdowns and the 100 lap main event, the Crate Late Models will qualify and run their Main event and the Renegade, Stock Four, Open Wheel Modified and Vintage Cars will run their main events that afternoon. On Saturday, the track hosts opening Blue/Grey events with Renegade, Stock Four, Young Guns and Extreme Four preliminaries.

Schaeffer’s Racing Oil will be providing a case of oil to the SAS Super Late Model event winner and a case of products to the Overall Fast Time Award at Cleveland and Cherokee.

The gates open Saturday and Sunday at 11:00 am with Tech and Registration open from 11:30 until 12:50 and the Driver’s Meeting will be at 1:00 pm and Hot Laps immediately following. On Sunday, Adult General Admission is $25.00 but a two day pass (includes Saturday) can be purchased for $30.00. In the Pits, it will be $35.00 per person but a two day pass (includes Saturday) can be purchased for $40.00. Camping is welcomed in the parking area outside of the Speedway but no hook-ups are available.

The night before the Blue/Grey 100, the SAS Late Models will race at the Cleveland Speedway in Cleveland, TN for the 24th annual Gobbler/Joe Lee Johnson Memorial event paying $5,000 on Saturday Night November 17th.

Further information on the Cherokee Speedway can be obtained by calling the track office at (864) 489-1969 or call track owner Lennie Buff at (864) 505-9199. The Cherokee Speedway is located at 153 Speedway Road, Gaffney, SC 29341.

Further information on the Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series can be obtained by calling General Manager Lynn Acklin at (256) 509-6603 or PR/Race Director Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or you can log on to the official series website at . Also, LIKE the Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series on Facebook or be a FOLLOWER on Twitter @SASDIRT.

SAS $10,000 to win Purse: 1) $10000, 2) $5000, 3) $2500, 4) $2000, 5) $1500, 6) $1300, 7) $1200, 8) $1100, 9) $850, 10) $800, 11) $750, 12) $700, 13) $650, 14) $600, 15) $550, 16) $500, 17) $500, 18) $500, 19) $500, 20) $500, 21) $500, 22) $500, 23) $500, 24) $500.

2012 Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series Sponsors
*Hoosier Racing Tire “The Official Race Tire” of the Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series
*VP Racing Fuels “The Official Fuel” of the Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series
*Arizona Sport Shirts “The Official Merchandise Vendor” of the Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series

2012 Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series Supporters Include: Schaeffer’s Racing Oil by Elaine White, Gotta Race, AR Bodies, Brodix Cylinder Heads, Cruise with the Champions, MSR Mafia Web Design and Service and H3 Performance Graphics.

Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series Championship Points (after October 27th)
1. Randy Weaver-1,148 (Crossville, TN)
2. Mike Weeks-1,038 (Friendsville, TN)
3. Shan Smith-818 (Dade City, FL)
4. Billy Ogle Jr.-672 (Knoxville, TN)
5. Skip Arp-544 (Georgetown, TN)
6. Riley Hickman-512 (Chattanooga, TN)
7. William Thomas-500 (Phenix City, AL)
8. Jake Knowles-458 (Tyrone, GA)
9. Mark Vineyard-454 (Powell, TN)
10. Ray Cook-440 (Brasstown, NC)

2012 Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series event winners:
# 1-April 7-Jimmy Owens-Newport, TN (Cleveland Speedway)
# 2-April 14-Vic Hill-Mosheim, TN (Smoky Mountain Speedway)
# 3-May 5-William Thomas-Phenix City, AL (Talladega Short Track)
# 4-May 12-Skip Arp-Georgetown, TN (Cleveland Speedway)
# 5-May 26-Randy Weaver-Crossville, TN (Whynot Motorsports Park)
# 6-May 27-Randy Weaver-Crossville, TN (Magnolia Motor Speedway)
# 7-June 16-Vic Hill-Mosheim, TN (Smoky Mountain Speedway)
# 8-June 23-Randy Weaver-Crossville, TN (Talladega Short Track)
# 9-July 28-Randy Weaver-Crossville, TN (Talladega Short Track)
# 10-August 18-Billy Ogle Jr.-Knoxville, TN (Cleveland Speedway)
# 11-September 15-Billy Ogle Jr.-Knoxville, TN (Cleveland Speedway)
# 12-September 22-Billy Ogle Jr.-Knoxville, TN (Smoky Mountain Speedway)
# 13-October 6-Randy Weaver-Crossville, TN (Talladega Short Track)
# 14-October 27-David Payne-Murphy, NC (Toccoa Speedway)

Remaining Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series events:
November 17-Cleveland Speedway-Cleveland, TN-$5,000 to win GOBBLER 50
November 18-Cherokee Speedway-Gaffney, SC-$10,000 BLUE/GREY 100

Blue/Grey 100 Winners:
1991 - Freddy Smith
1992 - Scott Bloomquist
1993 - Donnie Moran
1994 - Scott Bloomquist
1995 - Donnie Moran
1996 - Scott Bloomquist
1997 - Clint Smith
1998 - Jack Pennington
1999 - Freddy Smith
2000 - Freddy Smith
2001 - Steve Lucas
2002 - Jeff Cooke
2003 - Petey Ivey
2004 - Chris Madden
2005 - Randy Weaver
2006 - Chris Madden
2007 - Jimmy Owens
2008 - Randle Chupp
2009 - Dale McDowell
2010 - Chris Madden
2011 - Jonathan Davenport