Default crank evac system

Has anyone tried using a crankcase evac system on a circle track car? If so, pros cons

Moroso makes a simple kit, lots of people are running them. I have been running one for two years now. Not really much of a con to it unless your valve covers don't have any baffling in them to keep it from sucking some oil out of the valve cover. But another way I have seen people do it is they run a catch can between the valve cover and the exhaust.

Many super engines run vacuum on the crankcase using the oil pump which is more efficient and reliable. The valve cover units work better at sustained high rpm more than many of the small tracks that are run by local racers.

pros= more hp, less chance of external oil leaks, plugs seem to last longer. no cons really. the kits are cheap. i have mine hooked to an oil/air separator which works well. it keeps any condensation in the tank and not in the oil.

assuming your not allowed a vacuum pump this is the way to go. vacuum pumps will make much more power but the motor will need special seals and pressurized oiling to things that were normally splash lubed. a friend of mine picked up 60hp on his 565bbc drag motor by adding a vacuum pump.

the idea is for you to run thin weak low friction rings an vacuum is meant to seat them to the cylinder bore,...an will gain 15 to 30 hp on motor with them rings,..if you got stiff rings your not gaining nothing sept for less likely to leak oil witch is in its self a big plus on drag motors as any sign of oil leaking or dripping will end your day on the track...don't think id want one on a dirt motor cause if you loose a gasket or a seal it'll be sucking in dirt an contaminating your oil system...that's a big con to most us...
    white trash motorsports

Quote Originally Posted by stock car driver View Post
    My chassis dyno hooked up a electric vac pump on a drag car and found it gained nothing...