Default Switching to Crate Class 604/602 witch one???

I'll be running (30 years driving experience in Street Stocks, Sportsman and a limited LM) in the Crate Class next season just wanting to know is the 150# weight break with a 602 (the track I run at gives this) worth the savings on price of a 604 motor or should I just get a 604 motor (the car i'm looking at has a 602). I have been told that the 604 has a big HP advantage vs the 602. Also does the motor as it comes from GM need the upgraded valve springs or are they already on it, like I said I'm new to this Crate deal.

My local track runs both in the same class but they only give the 602 a #100 weight break @2275# minimum weight. They seem to be all competitive with each other, I know of at least one 602 that won several features this year against the 604. I would think your track make-up might be a determing factor. If it's a momentum type track then the 602 should be fine, if it's stop and go the 604 might be a better choice. I think for the 602 to be competitive though it needs to be at the minimum weight allowed.

I would spend the money and get a 604. All the new motors should have the new valve springs on them. If it's actually a new motor that is.... Brad Hibbard who is on here or Hendren could tell you what to look for on the heads to identify the new ones.

the new engine has a new part # 19318604 VS the old at 88958604

also the new engine will not say GM Performance on the end of the heads it will have the chevy bowtie

only difference is the valve springs though

Brad