Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Taxes?

Default Taxes?

This may not be the place for this, but being new to the sport I was wondering what you guys do about your taxes and writing off your expenses?As most of you know, it takes a crap ton of $$$$ to get set up in a car. Now my accountant tells me that since I'm a small business owner, claiming the car and expenses, even as a separate business entity is a huge red flag. She advised me not to try to deduct any of it, but if I did, just try to break even.How do you guys handle your profit/loss statement concerning your racing operation?

don't deduct more than your 1099 says you made and you'll never have a problem. you can only show a loss for 3 years before the flags go up. if its not your main source of income they'll say its a hobby and throw it all out, and go back 7 years and make your life hell. this way if they ever do audit you, you still have a shoebox full of receipts you "forgot" to deduct. I personally know a guy who had to sell out his whole LM operation just to pay his back taxes when he got caught trying to deduct it all as a loss.

That's almost word for word what my accountant said. Thanks for the heads up. Uncle Sam wins again. Dang it.

Quote Originally Posted by kilroy be here View Post
    don't deduct more than your 1099 says you made and you'll never have a problem. you can only show a loss for 3 years before the flags go up. if its not your main source of income they'll say its a hobby and throw it all out, and go back 7 years and make your life hell. this way if they ever do audit you, you still have a shoebox full of receipts you "forgot" to deduct. I personally know a guy who had to sell out his whole LM operation just to pay his back taxes when he got caught trying to deduct it all as a loss.