Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Body Building Technique

I don't have a whole lot of skill in this area. What tools are most of yall using. I see some spectacular work on some of these cars smooth lines at edges that I can't replicate with electric or hand shears. Are you using Nibblers? What are you cutting your wheel openings with? Do you roll and flare them a little or what the technique these days. I can't afford to put 2k in a body like some of these guys. What tools of the trade seem to be the most used these days?

I was about to make the same post. I'm new to the late model world, and am getting ready to replace the body on the one I bought.

If you do not have a brake you are fighting a losing battle I have a brake and still buy my sides .There is a local shop that will do sides for 185.00 that is laser cut w wheel openings cut and body broke. The metal alone cost me 65.00 a sheet so that's a 130.00 right there I will gladly pay 55.00 to not cut and bend them . A lot of times local racers will do bodies for race money ask around maybe they will let you help to learn about what is involved then you can decide if it's worth the expense for all the stuff you need to do them

All straight lines are double folded on a brake , curves are cut with red aviation snips and double folded with a pair of electrical " linesman " pliers and finished with a body hammer on a piece of Ipe wood or smooth composite decking. There is no magic just patience and being accurate. I have hem rollers for my miter brothers power roller an honestly I prefer to just do it by hand.