Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Why do sprint cars use mechanical fuel injection?

Ive always wondered why sprint cars still use mechanical fuel injection and late models use carbs? Is there a performance advantage of one over the other?

Rollover, I am far from an expert on sprint car engines. However, the question you pose is one that is raised from time to time.

That said there are sprint car sanctions that allow both mechanical fuel injected and carbureted engines in the 305 classes. Most of the higher budget 305 sprint teams have gone to the mechanical fuel injection, but where the rules allow there are still teams running 305 sprinters with carburetors. As far as I know the big dogs, the fire breathin' 410's, are all run mechanical fuel injection. If I'm mistaken I'm sure someone more adept than myself will set the record straight. The USAC Silver Crown cars (AKA big cars, champ cars, dirt cars) are 355 cubic inch engines and they are mandated to run mechanical fuel injection.

There has been talk over the years of possibly allowing electronic fuel injection systems, especially in the USAC Silver Crown division and from what I've read there is conflicting opinions as to whether going electronic would control costs or not. One thing is for sure, EFI would be much easier to dial in and maintain, according to the mechanics that crew chief the Silver Crown cars.