Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 12v or 16v

Default 12v or 16v

Any reason NOT to get a 16v battery vs a 12v battery? Not running an alternator

if you looking for a down side, I'd say cost for the battery and charger to go with it. Other then that I really don't see one besides some electrical stuff isn't really made for 16V and may not last as long or have issues with the extra volts but doesn't really seem to be an issue for what most people have on the car.

Anyone else? Red top optima or 16v xs?

Never tried the 16 volt. Had a Red Top Optima for a few years with no issues. I'd probably stick with the 12 volt but if you do want to try the 16 volt, the most common brand I recall seeing is TurboStart. Although It's hard to beat the Optima batteries...

I am no battary expert and really don't know what makes them work but when it comes to the engine/ignition system what makes a difference is voltage

once the voltage drops the ignition is not as efficient causing a loss of power most noticably on the torque or low rpm side

when engines are under a load the ignition is drawing alot of amperage dragging the voltage down----
    lap after lap this begins to lower the votage in the battary making late race performance less than desirable

anything below 12 volts and the ignition will be suffering
    that is why we recommend mini alternators with 12 volt systems
    a good 16 volt battary with proper maintenance and charging usually will operate perfectly without alternators

hope everyone has a Great Christmas
    Brad
    www.race-1.com

I'be been running the yellow top Optima for years with no problems. I can't tell any difference in power from the seat at the end of 20 laps of a weekly feature. But i'm far from any expert on this. No alternator , I do charge battery day of race?