Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Flipping cars & injuries

Just wanted to throw out a question to get some ideas on what can be done to slow the cars down &/or make them less prone to flipping. Seems this year there has been a rash of nasty ones with some driver injuries to boot. I saw the Eric Wells crash at the PDC & it was as vicious a flip as I've seen in a late model. I know tacky track conditions as well as some track layouts with open corners are a factor, but it seems the cars are getting much more prone to sprint car type flips in recent years.

Seems like something might need to be done as some of the tracks really aren't "flip worthy" if you will in terms of the barriers & fencing they have. I'm by no means an expert, just a fan & curious of other's thoughts on this.

it may just be that the internet has broadened our information so much that we know about more flips because we are aware of more races, but we used to go to 5-10 HAT races a year, as well as alot of unsanctioned big races and SAS races in East Tenn and Ga. and I too don't remember very many flips at all. In fact, I have only ever seen just a couple.

I also wonder if it's the suspension they run today. I don't know if I just didnt notice it years ago, but it seems that now, almost every car looks like the front end suspension is broken, they way they lay over so much on the right side.
    I think stiffening up the right sides would probably help. Keep cars on top of the tracks a bit more.

It is absolutely contributed to by the suspensions of today. Tied down right fronts and pinned up left rears - the car is in a constant state of yaw with the nose as close to track as possible. All it takes is that nose to dig in a little bit and they are flipping. The cars have gotten faster and the only things that have really changed the last 3 years is the aero stuff and suspensions. The suspensions changed to help the aero.