Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Lightbulb Safety equipment and accident question involving Eldora fatality

I didn't want to post this in with the prayers and rip's as it would be distracting from the point of those posts. I'm in the process of designing building my own chassis because I just don't like the direction that modern DLM's have gone in regards to performance and most assuredly safety. So far I've incorporated a maximum allowed dropped deck with metal angled away from drivers right shoulder with a raised halo to enhance escapability. On top of halo I've welded in expanded metal covering the top to keep cage from sinking into track surface during roll over in case roof becomes detached and will not be using a Jbar at all. I also may use a double main hoop.

The only pics I could find of Mr Unger's car show only a regular aluminum seat, head support on RS only, no full containment. I'm not a proponent of mandatory full containment because in most designs it significantly impairs escapability during a fire. However I am exploring some alternatives that address this.

I wasn't in attendance so I don't know what happened, but I try to use every accident like this, whether it's fatal or handicapping as an opportunity to improve the design of my cars. So if someone feels comfortable enough to share what they saw happen, you don't have to be gory graphic, you can post here or PM me. I've heard he hit on the drivers side, but I don't know if another car t-boned him or if he hit the wall with the driver side.

I've already heard some clamoring for mandatory Hans devices, but if he was injured from side impact as described, Hans offers little or no protection for that, only a full containment seat or properly installed window net or left side head rest would.

Did the car ever turn over?
    Was the car T-boned on driver side?
    Did car hit wall drivers side first?
    What were the circumstances?