Default conversation topics

how about some off season conversation

I have a question to start it off

Topic>>>>Rear Wheel HP

what is the real world difference in the newer style transmissions?

has anyone done back to back testing on a chassis dyno to confirm a gain and the amount of gain when using the latest generation of transmissions compared to the older styles?

we know what the manufacturers claim but I am interested in what the general racing public has seen in private sessions.

Brad
    www.race-1.com

250 people look at this post and no comments----I am confused---

how about light weight hubs---bearings--driveshafts----etc.

is there any racer info on the actual gain to the wheels?

Brad
    www.race-1.com

i have went back to back on a chassis dyno with a reg bert and a gen 2 bert 0 hp gain on a 604 crate all this was within 1 hour back to back changing nothing but the transmission it is however 11 pounds lighter the orther stuff i have no knowledge with but couldnt possible hurt

We played with different hub brands/ rotors and weights this year. Along with different grease and bearings we were able to cut about 3.5lbs of weight going to a magnesium hub and scalloped rotor (1.25) vs a standard aluminum hub and normal rotor off each hub assembly. We even looked at the option of drilled .810 rotors but the weight was very similar to the 1.25.

No actual dyno results but I've never heard anyone say less rotating weight hurt them.

clayman2,
    did you go back to the original transmission to verify #'s
    we always try to do an "A" "B" "A" test when possible

was there any type of acceleration rate that was measurable on the equipment being used?

I would have expected to see a few digits of power and better acceleration from the low end of things
    if you started recording information above 3000 RPM I could understand seeing very little of either

Brad
    www.race-1.com

missile07,