Thread: Woodward rack

Default Woodward rack

Is there anyway to make a Woodward rack with an inline servo steer a little harder? This is my first year in late model and coming from a street stock with a stock gm steering box it is tough for me to get used to how quick and easy my car is steering.

Does it have the Woodward servo? If it does, you just change the torsion bar to a thicker one. Instructions are on Woodward's site. If it has a sweet servo, you have to send the servo to sweet to do the same thing.

Yes it's a Woodward servo. How do I tell which torsion bar I have so I know I'm getting a harder one?

Remove it following the instructions from the
    site. Measure the diameter of the bar in the middle where it is smallest.

Thank you. Steering just seems very "Darty like." Felt like a sprint car my first fee laps working the steering wheel. Reminds me a lot of when I used to race karts. I suppose it's just something I'll have to get used to. Thank you.

When I went to a faster ratio and the lightest torsion bar it felt darty for the heat race and maybe a few laps of the main, but after that it has been great. I run the 4.19 rack and lightest servo.

The torsion bar isn't going to "slow down" the steering ratio. It will just make it harder to turn the wheel. If you're struggling getting used to the quicker steering, you may want to consider a slower ratio rack. But you will have your hands full on a heavy race track if you go too slow ratio.

If you have a 15 inch steering wheel, going to a 17 can help slow it a bit. Other than that I would adapt and get used to it.