Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Help Malcuit Engine

I have a 14 1/2 degree motor from Malcuit. This off season had a engine shop put new sleeves in refreshed the whole motor. sense then have sent it back 3 times because it smokes. IT appears to be water from intake I believe. When you take the carb off you can see all runners are wet. HE has tried to seal it but still the same. I pressure tested it with radiator and it looses pressure of about 10 lbs in less than 5 minutes. I originally thought was the head gasket but water seems to be only in intake. Looking for ideas what we are missing or if someone has a good motor guy who could look at it asap. Really need help so frustrated. it is 428 all aluminum Dart Block .

Where are you located?

What kind of Intake is it, 2 piece?

Just say no...

Quote Originally Posted by Kromulous View Post
    Where are you located?

What kind of Intake is it, 2 piece?
    Indiana . yes it is a 2 piece. it has a plate

What Engine Builder did you go to?

I hope PERFCONN see's this, he would be the best one to ask probably on this board, but i cant see how water would be getting into the Intake area's with a 2 piece Intake.

Thinking out loud here, but if the intake face wasnt sealing, it would just bleed into the valley. I would be worried about a crack in the ports. Is there any epoxy in the ports anywhere?

Just say no...

My guess is a crack behind the sleeve, had a similar thing happen before.

Why was the sleeves replaced? did it break or just out on max bore and needed sleeves replaced?
    Last edited by billetbirdcage; 09-27-2018 at 02:53 PM.