Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default General Question?

Design or Build question i guess. Anyway, i want to try and get an idea of how to get less torque, and more HP?

Say if one engine has 900 hp and 650 ft lbs, and another has 850 hp and 700 ft lbs.

What could be done to alter those results?

Cam, cylinder head flow, exhaust, carb?

I know someone will ask, so all aluminum SLM Engines, no restrictions other than a 4 bbl and the usual rules.

Thanks, Krom

Just say no...

HP is a calculation of TQ * RPM / 5252 so it would seem RPM would be a key in making more HP.

I am reading a Cam with a little more duration.

Retarding the cam a little, and tighten up on the valve lash, but i am not sure how much impact this will have.

It seems to be a contest between cylinder head flow, volumetric efficiency, and bore and stroke, but i am still studying...

Just say no...

More duration, more lobe separation, installed slightly retarded. Crank the rpms up.
    Josh K.

Quote Originally Posted by Kromulous View Post
    HP is a calculation of TQ * RPM / 5252 so it would seem RPM would be a key in making more HP.

I am reading a Cam with a little more duration.

Retarding the cam a little, and tighten up on the valve lash, but i am not sure how much impact this will have.

It seems to be a contest between cylinder head flow, volumetric efficiency, and bore and stroke, but i am still studying...
    ## deleted picture as it's too big and messes up thread##

Here is prime example: blue cam has more torque in the lower RPM ranges but drops off sharper at the higher RPM, thus it doesn't create a lot of HP because the torque is dropping so bad after 5252 RPM.

Short on time right now, but I will try to explain a few options and one you listed that will not really make a lot of difference and should look elsewhere on options of what to do.

MY bad sorry about the large picture: https://st.hotrod.com/uploads/sites/...ne-224-cam.jpg <---direct link might be easier to read